Search This Blog

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Imperial State Electric “All Through the Night” released on Psychout Records/Sound pollution

Merely one year after the previous record “Honk Machine” (that was as far as I'm concerned certainly the band's best stuff), The new Imperial State Electric, “All Through the Night”, has recently be released on Psychout Records/Sound pollution. The album was recorded in Nicke Andersson's very own studio The Honk Palace and was mixed by Frans Hagglund.

That Nicke Andersson is one of Sweden's most prolific and talented songwriters and musicians is not a secret but the man manages to still improve his songwriting with every new album and he delivers once more 10 new tracks filled to the rafters with infectious melodies, harmonies and hooks.

The record kicks off with the very Blue Oyster Cultish "Empire of Fire" and its heavy 70's guitars and pounding drums. And you immediately know that you're in for a treat. Other highlights of “All Through the Night” are the very fine title track, "Would you lie", the rocking “Get Off the Boo Hoo Train” and also the beautiful ending track of the record, penned by bassist Dolf de Borst “No Sleeping”, with its acoustic guitars and its Beatlesque overtones. 

Imperial State Electric has always tried to expand its musical boundaries and this time the band came up with the country tinged duet with Linn Segolson, "Break it down". 

The band (Nicke Andersson: lead vocals, guitars; Tobias Egge: Guitars, vocals:  Tomas Eriksson: drums, vocals and Dolf de Borst: bass, vocals) is tighter than ever and you can feel this band -one of the hardest working bands in the business as James Brown used to say- has been playing live relentlessly. This is an absolute must buy that won't disappoint any of the many Imperial State Electric fans all over the world and will even bring then some new ones! 

Purchase it here:

No comments: