Search This Blog

Friday, June 19, 2015


1) DATURA4 - Demon Blues

Datura4, from Fremantle, Western Australia, brings together Dom Mariani (frontman of legendary Australian garage band The Stems and Power Pop favourites DM3) and Greg Hitchcock (You Am I, The Kryptonics, The Monarchs) along with Drummer Warren Hall (ex-Drones) and bassist Stu Loasby.

They’ve been around for quite a while but “Demon Blues” is Datura4’s debut on Alive-Naturalsound. And what a debut it is: You dreamed of it and they made it! A psychedelic/heavy-blues band that is not just about jamming but can  actually write incredibly loud and great SONGS WITH HOOKS A PLENTY. 

The saturated and overdriven guitars are absolutely stunning. The freaked out wha-wha guitar solos will melt both your ears and your speakers. AND  the vocals are brilliant as well.

The opening track, “Out With The Tide”, is worth alone the price of admission.The guitars hit hard and at the same time the pop chemistry Dom Mariani is so famous for operates on the spot. This is actually the best of both worlds.

Of course you will hear traces of early ’70’s Australian Psych/Blues/Boogie from the likes of Buffalo, Coloured Balls or the latter era Masters Apprentices, but when i listen to a tune like “You Ain’t No Friend Of Mine” i can't help thinking about the heydays of BLUE OYSTER CULT either. 

For those who you who don't know it, Datura is a genus of nine species of poisonous vespertine flowering plants belonging to the family Solanaceae.  They are known as angel's trumpets. All species of Datura are poisonous, especially their seeds and flowers.The beautiful psychedelic cover art, done by Joshua Marc Levy/Asheville Art Family, depicts the said plant in more ways than one.

Buy this at any cost. This is certainly in my TOP 10 of the 2015 albums. One will never thank Patrick BOISSEL enough for releasing such amazing albums on his label. 

RELEASE DATE : 10th of JULY 2015 Pre-order it here:

2) Left Lane Cruiser - 'Dirty Spliff Blues'

Left Lane Cruiser began in Fort Wayne, Indiana as a two-piece band comprised of Frederick Joe Evans IV on slide guitar and Brenn Beck on drums. After the departure of former drummer Brenn Beck, Freddy J IV has joined forces with new members Joe Bent, who plays bass and an electrified skateboard fixed up with guitar strings and new drummer Pete Dio.

"Dirty Spliff Blues" is Left Lane Cruiser's 5th album for Alive Naturalsound, and the first one as a trio. And it is certainly their best effort so far.  They have expended their take on bad-ass blues with an even bigger sonic sound and a deeper end and it will appeal not only to the usual LLC fans but will also gain them a legion of new followers.

"The core group of songs on this record were written at soundchecks during a nine-month period of touring the U.S. and Europe," wrote Freddy J IV. "After a long drive, we would get to the club. Burn one down. Fuckin' jam at soundcheck. Then we had a new tune. It went on like that for a while. This album was written entirely under the guidance and influence of marijuana. No dirty spliffs (joints with a mix of tobacco and pot) were used in the making of this record."  

The album art for Dirty Spliff Blues was created by William Stout

Purchase it here:

No comments: