Search This Blog

Friday, March 13, 2015

Jim Basnight & The Moberlys - Seattle New York Los Angeles

Jim Basnight & The Moberlys - Seattle New York  Los Angeles
In wav - Scans are included

1 I Wanna Be Yours
2 Rest Up
3 Lose Me
4 I Love You So
5 What I Wouldn't Do
6 Bare My Soul
7 Tonight
8 Genius Of Love
9 Your Fool
10 Blood Beach
11 You Came And You Conquered
12 She Don't Rock
13 Love So True
14 The Rebel Kind
15 She Always Smiled
16 Alone With Her
17 Elma
18 Summertime Again
19 Ugly Side
20 I Need Your Love
21 Wherever You Take Me
22 Ain't It Funny
23 We Rocked And Rolled

The Moberlys' self-titled debut album was something of a lost new wave/post-punk classic, but little else was heard from them aside from the odd EP or 7" through the rest of their life span together. The subsequent lack of released material, however, wasn't from lack of recording, as the compilation Seattle-New York-Los Angeles proves. The album represents a missing link of sorts, not only in the career of The Moberlys but also between the garage punk that roared out of Seattle in the 1960s, a main source of inspiration for the band, and the grunge that began to emerge in the city by the end of the band's career in the late '80s. It is a windfall of material, with 23 tracks clocking in at just over 70 minutes, almost all of it worthy of praise. The recordings span nearly a decade, the three cities of the disc's title, and two versions of the band, although the third and longest-standing unit recorded the majority of the music here.


DEE DEE said...

Wonderful Post! Thanks a lot.

geololo said...

More than wonderful. Fantastic, dramatic, epic, anything ic !!
Thank you very much for that.

Woody said...

Very good!!! Thank you very much!!!

Carlos Roa said...

Fantastic post. Great band.