Search This Blog

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

The Galileo 7 - False Memory Lane

The Galileo 7 - False Memory Lane

Allan Crockford is not only bassist extraordinaire for Graham Day and The Forefathers (and before that for the Prisoners, Prime Movers, Solarflares), he is also the master brain behind The Galileo 7 where he reveals himself as a very fine guitar player, a brilliant lead singer and subtil composer of all of the songs. 

Bass player in Galileo 7 is none other that Mole almost as legendary as Allan for his contribution to garage faves The Mystreated and current band The Higher State. Viv Bonsels (organ, vocals) and Russ Baxter (drums) are the 2 other partners in crime. 

Galileo 7 latest and already third album, "False Memory Lane", was released on Fools Paradise and it is a real master piece. The production is flawless and the playing and singing are simply amazing. But do not expect to hear another take on Medway garage here! Allan and the band  are trying to do something a little different. If a track like "Don't Know What I'm Waiting For" is not to far away from The Len Price Three, the use in the title track of Mellotron and some acoustic guitar give to the record a fine psychedelic pop vibe not too far from some of the late ’60s Kinks. A real must have!

The vinyl comes with a 3 tracks bonus CD and a digital download (for those of you who still don't get that mp3 is NOT the future of rock'n'roll!)

Make yourself a favor and buy it here :


1. Don't Follow Me
2. My Cover Is Blown
3. You're Not Dreaming
4. False Memory Lane
5. Nobody Told You
6. Don't Know What I'm Waiting For
7. I'm Still Here
8. Tide's Rising
9. Fools
10. Don't Want To Know
11. Little By Little

"Mere Self Anomaly" Bonus CD EP (included with vinyl edition only):
1. Blank Spot
2. Over And Over
3. Reynard The Fox (Julian Cope Cover)

GALILEO 7 is :
Allan Crockford - vocals, guitar
Viv Bonsels - organ, vocals
Mole - bass, vocals
Russ Baxter - drums

No comments: