Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Graham Parker & the Rumour - The Parkerilla

Graham Parker & the Rumour - The Parkerilla
In flac - Scans are included
1. Lady Doctor  
2. Fool's Gold  
3. Tear Your Playhouse Down  
4. Hey Lord, Don't Ask Me Questions  
5. The Heat In Harlem  
6. Silly Thing  
7. Gypsy Blood  
8. Back to Schooldays  
9. Heat Treatment  
10. Watch the Moon Come Down  
11. New York Shuffle  
12. Soul Shoes  
13. Hey Lord, Don't Ask Me Questions (Studio Version)  
First bought this as a vinyl double, and was staggered by its crackling energy, and how decent the sound was. Many years later, my opinion hasn't changed: this is Graham Parker and the Rumour at their committed, exuberant best. There are blistering versions of 'Heat Treatment', 'New York Shuffle' and 'Tear your Playhouse down', exquisitely warm and tender versions of 'Fool's Gold' and 'Watch the Moon come down' (still sends chills down my spine). The band are tight and hot, and Parker's raggedy rasp cuts like a blade. Get this, and soak up the atmosphere!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Been looking for CD of this for ages. My vinyl copy wore out years ago! This is the business. THanks