Search This Blog

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Sweet - Blockbusters

Sweet - Blockbusters

@ 320 kbps - Covers are included

1. Ballroom Blitz 2. Hell Raiser 3. New York Connection 4. Little Willy 5. Burning 6. Need a Lot of Lovin' 7. Wig-Wam Bam 8. Blockbuster 9. Rock and Roll Disgrace 10. Chop Chop 11. Alexander Graham Bell 12. Poppa Joe 13. Co-Co 14. Funny Funny
The nucleus of The Sweet came together in 1966, when drummer Michael Thomas Tucker (b. 17 July 1947, Harlesden, London, England) and vocalist Brian Francis Connolly (b. 5 October 1945, Hamilton, Scotland) played together in Wainwright's Gentlemen, a small-time club circuit band whose repertoire comprised a mixture of Motown, R&B and psychedelia. The pair broke away to form Sweetshop, later shortened to just Sweet, with Steve Norman Priest (b. 23 February 1950, Hayes, Middlesex) on bass and Frank Torpey on guitar. After releasing four unsuccessful singles on Fontana and EMI, Torpey was replaced by first Mick Stewart, and then Mick by Andrew David Scott (b. 30 June 1949, Wrexham, Wales) and the new line-up signed to RCA. The band were introduced to the writing partnership of Chinn and Chapman, who were to provide the band with a string of hit singles. Their initial success was down to bubblegum pop anthems such as Funny Funny, Co-Co, Poppa Joe and Little Willy. However, the band were writing their own hard-rock numbers on the b-sides of these hits. This resulted in Chinn/Chapman coming up with heavier pop-rock numbers, most notably the powerful Blockbuster, which reached number 1 in the UK at the beginning of 1973. The group's determinedly effete, glam-rock image was reinforced by a succession of Top 10 hits, including Hell Raiser, Ballroom Blitz, Teenage Rampage and The Six Teens.


Anonymous said...

Thankx a lot RatBoy. Sweet are very cool!!! I've liked.

jeffen said...

Sweet Bubblegum!


Pep Sonic said...

Many thankx friend. Always fantastic post in your blog.